The 100 meter race and the narcissistic society

Suvarna Ventures

While I studied in school, and this was nearly 3 decades ago, we used to have sports events. One of the sport, I was forced to participate in was a 100 meter race. This was something I hated because I simply couldn’t run fast as others. It did not come as a surprise then that I always finished last or at best second last.

As is the tradition in most societies, the winner gets a lot of respect, awards, friends and the loser gets ridiculed. I was too young then to understand that this was just a race and not to be taken personally.

Majority of my friends would hang around the winner of the race or those who ranked well academically.

Few questions I had on my mind then and I was afraid to ask were :

First – What was the purpose of that race ? Is it just to know who runs…

View original post 483 more words

One thought on “The 100 meter race and the narcissistic society

Leave a Reply

