Are objects more important than a child’s feelings ?

Suvarna Ventures

A child drops a toy which then breaks into pieces. The father yells at the child, in front of his friends for breaking an expensive toy.

Well, toys are not meant to last long. A new toy can be purchased. But how does a child feel when his father yells at him in front of his friends for breaking a toy.

How will this child grow up ? What values does he pick up from his father ?  – That toys are more important than his own feelings.

For many in this material world, objects are more valued than someone else’s feelings.

It is the duty of parents to build them, not tear them. Yelling has never solved any problem. It is an unwanted behavior children learn which they carry forward in their teen age and adult hood.

If parents understand that they are not perfect, how do they expect…

View original post 55 more words

6 thoughts on “Are objects more important than a child’s feelings ?

  1. wow, did you visit my house when I was growing up? This happened all the time for me. I was expected to be perfect, a miniature adult because my parents entertained business associates in the evening quite a bit and I was expected to act as an adult at all times. I wasn’t even allowed to wear blue jeans. children should be allowed to be children because once childhood is gone, its gone forever.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Not me. When my children were young, I let them act like children. I let them play and have fun. A lot of the time, I used to join them. We’d ride bikes together, go camping, just enjoy ourselves. Life it too short to be so serious all of the time.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

