Do you have to remind people that you exist ?

Suvarna Academy

One of the habit I picked up from my mother is to inquire about people I know on a casual basis. Just a casual phone call, how has life been ? What are they up to ?

Sadly, not many inquired about her in return as I observed that it was only my mother who was worried about her siblings, cousins and everyone she knew.

When I asked her why does she call people who do not even bother to inquire about her in return, she replied ‘Someday they will realize how important it is to inquire about well being of others’.

Well the realization did dawn upon them. Each and every family member she used to inquire about did turn up for her funeral a decade ago and they cried a lot. But it was too late by then.

For a long time, I followed her foot steps. And…

View original post 132 more words

2 thoughts on “Do you have to remind people that you exist ?

  1. First of all, I’m sorry for your loss. Your mother was an an incredible caring person and I’m sure you miss her very much. I lost my mom to cancer 4 years ago and I really miss her.
    Your experience sounds similar to my own experience. Family has always been important to me so I decided to begin researching our family history. I notified everyone in the family including cousins.
    I asked for information on their particular families and combined with my research, I was going to compile it all in a book which I was going to donate to them for free. Not one member of my family even bothered to reply so I dropped the entire project.Anyway, this is a great post that I can really relate to. I just live my life and not dwell on my family.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

