Do you have to remind people that you exist ?

One of the habit I picked up from my mother is to inquire about people I know on a casual basis. Just a casual phone call, how has life been ? What are they up to ?

Sadly, not many inquired about her in return as I observed that it was only my mother who was worried about her siblings, cousins and everyone she knew.

When I asked her why does she call people who do not even bother to inquire about her in return, she replied ‘Someday they will realize how important it is to inquire about well being of others’.

Well the realization did dawn upon them. Each and every family member she used to inquire about did turn up for her funeral a decade ago and they cried a lot. But it was too late by then.

For a long time, I followed her foot steps. And now I do it only for select people who care about me.

Once I get the feel that people do not understand the value of someone being inquired, then I back out. These are the same people who complain about loneliness and how selfish the world has become.

I firmly believed that we can sit at home and complain about others or we try and change and set the tone for others to emulate. I choose the latter.

People do inquire about my well being when they want me to like their page or a photograph they submitted in a competition.

I understand for majority of us – if you are out of sight, you are out of mind.

This is one of the reality of life that we need to accept.

29 thoughts on “Do you have to remind people that you exist ?

  1. Hello Sudhir,

    Very well said.

    Your mother was a very kind lady!

    I feel it’s true, though we can be generous to anyone who meet. It is a practice which helps us open our hearts.

    I hope you are enjoying the weekend.

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Over my lifetime…a long one…I have moved many times and made that effort to stay in touch with people whom I have made friends with, as well as family. So often, the interests and activities that we shared are no longer activities and interests we share in current time/place, and the cards, calls and communications drop away. But oh the delicious bonding that has happened with the people that have made the effort to remained connected. Genuine and very real relationships, few in number but valued highly.

    And family? I would guess most families have the one who only calls when they need us to give something, do something, or rescue them from something, but who it would never even occur to us to put them on our speed dial for assistance.

    Great post.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I loved to read your comment Johanna. There are people who reply with 0.005 milliseconds but never bothered to inquire on their own. I guess with family ego comes into play, as they expect us to inquire about them. It is not the case with few good friends. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Very well said, I recognise this in my own life, I tend to be the one inquire about others, always taking contact and not many returns it.

    But lately I’ve changed my approached some, and not wasting too much energy on those that not really care. Better to spend time and energy on those that really cares.

    Have a great day!

    Liked by 4 people

      1. Yes thank you, my new job is working very well and the people I work with now are more professional, and it’s not so messy. I’ve been busy lately with all sorts of things, but it’s all very good things so that’s fine 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

