Why self-help books actually don’t work for you ?

At some point in life, when we face hardships in life, we read books as a mechanism to cope with our setbacks and feel motivated to move on.

Self-help books have been around for a while and it’s a huge industry. When I visit Crossword, a book store very close to my residence, I often visit the self-help books section.

Theoretically, they all say the same thing but worded differently. You read this message nowadays about failure and coping with it and there are numerous examples of historical figures and celebrities who failed and bounced back in life.

While those people who bounced back in life, must have gone through years of hardships, the book that you read will tell a story from failure to success in under an hour of reading.

It is no doubt a feel good habit to read self-help books. Unfortunately,Β Β the real world is a bit different.

The self-help books will suggest that you must ignore all the negative people in your life. What if you have to live with negative people ?

Many of the recommendations are not practical.

They also suggest that you should not seek approval from others. The reality is we all do it whether we like or not.

For every blog posts, we expect people to like our posts or we just lose interest in writing. Self motivation is really hard to practice.

While publishers and the authors have made money selling a dream world, people who have read the book are back to square one once they have finished reading the book.Β That is the sad reality of life.

In the end, all it takes is your own grit and determination to bounce back from setbacks.

and you can do it….Never give up !

and I am not suggesting in anyway to stop reading self-help books, because I am going to write one someday πŸ™‚

18 thoughts on “Why self-help books actually don’t work for you ?

  1. I read self-help books and books that shows how successful people are able to overcome adversities. I believe that in a way, they give inspiration but yes, we are left on our own device and it is still up to us, if ever we apply them or not. Also, the best help really is finding people who are willing to support and believe in us. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. True. but no author has elaborated the adversities, the daily struggles and impact on family. Usually, a paragraph is devoted to the struggles – in reality it is few years of struggle which I am guessing cannot be described in a book, but only those who go through it will understand.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes I agree, if these struggles will be written in a book, then it would mean lots of volumes which really may not worth the time and effort or may not interest the readers. Reality is really hard to be articulated in a book I guess that is why it is not the focus of any self-help or motivational books. We all have different experiences and struggles but have the same issues – most of us want to succeed in life, family and career but few of us do. However, still it is better to see things in a positive way than dwell on things we don’t have control over, it is easier said than done but still possible πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. Glad to know that, I think if your message will be read by more people, you will be able to motivate and inspire them. Kudos to you and don’t give up as you know you have a very important thing to share to the world. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree. Self-motivation is REALLY HARD. I am translating a novel right now, and it’s really hard to push myself to do it because #1. I don’t get paid for it. #2. If I don’t feel appreciated, I just don’t want to do it.

    I still push myself though. I feel like if I set my mind on doing something, I will complete it.

    Thank you for your post!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Your post made me day too. πŸ™‚ Thank you for motivating me. I appreciate all the time and effort you spend on your posts. They do help me.

        Sometimes, I get my inspiration from others like you. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am trying to connect with people too after a 3 year hiatus from society because of chronic depression and personal setbacks. This blog gives me an opportunity to connect with people world over, who helped me believe I am not alone. You have my gratitude.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

