‘I just don’t understand’ – How toddlers really think about people and things around them

If you are a parent of a toddler, I am sure you wished you understand what they are trying to communicate to you and how they feel about things, food they eat and whether they understand they are the life and soul of their parents.

Here is my take of what I think is going on inside the mind of the cute souls:

“Daddy gets a nice toy for me everyday. I just don’t understand why the toy breaks when I drop it on the floor.”

“I like to play in the water all day. I just don’t understand why Mumma does not let me play in the water.”

“I just don’t understand Daddy – He says ‘bye’ in the morning and ‘hello’ in the evening.’ ‘I just don’t understand where he goes everyday in the morning. He comes home only in the evening. I am tired in the evening. I don’t get to play with him. Mumma is so nice. She plays with me all day.

‘Last Sunday, I saw a lion in the zoo. I liked him. I asked Mumma ‘Shall we take the lion home?’.  Mumma said ‘No’. I just don’t understand why we can’t keep the lion home. The lion is so cute.’

‘I keep falling down when I am playing at home. I think the floor is not nice. Daddy must change the floor’.

‘I saw a baby elephant after I slept. When I woke up in the morning, the baby elephant was not there. I just don’t understand where did the baby elephant go.’

‘I like Daddy more than Mumma – Daddy gives me cream biscuits and ice-creams. Mumma gives  me only mushrrooms, boiled eggs, milk and medicines. I don’t like the taste.’

‘I just don’t understand what is Daddy doing in front of the computer on Sunday’s instead of playing with me.’

a-toddler-playing-with-toys
Baby Aadarsh
One thought on “‘I just don’t understand’ – How toddlers really think about people and things around them

Leave a Reply

